How I was pushed out of Norcross High School

HOW I WAS PUSHED OUT OF NORCROSS HIGH SCHOOL:

During the 2011-2012 school year at Norcross High School I taught United States History. After teaching the section on the American Revolution, I realized that there was NOTHING in the chapter about how Christianity or religion affected the Revolution. There was NOTHING. It was completely secular. No mention of the First Act of the Congress—Our Righteous Christian Founding Fathers met because they had heard about the cannonade of Boston. They prayed and studied four chapters of the Bible. Reverend Jacob Duche’ read the 35th Psalm and then said his own prayer, which had an incredible effect on the men. No mention of John Adams letter to Abigail about this meeting. There is a wonderful painting that I showed the students about this event. NO mention of the Congressional Proclamations of days of “humiliation, fasting and prayer” during the Revolution. (about 14 during the years of the war)

NO mention of the private letters between Founding Fathers. Example John Adams to Abigail Adams, which are full of scripture. NO mention of that the Continental Congress appointed Chaplains for itself, the Army, sponsored the publication of the Bible and imposed Christian morality for the soldiers. NO mention of John Adams letter to Abigail about the importance of the Declaration of Independence. NO mention of the “black robes”, the Ministers who rallied the colonists to fight for their freedoms. Example John Peter Gabriel Muhlenberg from Virginia who rose to the rank of Brigadier General in the war serving with General Washington. NO mention of the first line of the Treaty of Paris signed by Benjamin Franklin, John Jay and John Adams. “In the name of the most Holy and undivided Trinity.”

So over the weekend I created a 45-page Microsoft document, full of facts on how teachers can properly teach the American Revolution from a factual/ Christian perspective. The document is full of Congressional Proclamations, private letters, paintings in Statuary Hall, and all the factual events of the war. On Monday I emailed it to all the U.S. history teachers simply telling them, “I thought you might find this useful in your lesson plans.” That morning my boss took me down the long hallway to the Principals office. I was scolded and reprimanded for about 15 minutes. It felt like I was in 1935 Nazi Germany and they were the Gestapo. They didn’t listen to anything I had to say. I worked extremely hard creating the document because I thought it would help and this is how they treated me. The next seven weeks my boss made my life a living hell. She got the Department Chair to observe me in my room every 4 to 5 days. They wrote me up on a GTEP form saying I was not teaching properly. I had a document that proved my students county test scores were ten points higher than three other teachers. I showed it to the Principal, but he said to simply listen to Christine (my boss). Each day and week it got worse and worse. I did not want to leave. I had a family to take care of. It was the most difficult decision in my life, but after seven weeks, my life was so miserable I resigned. And I actually had the decency to shake Christine’s hand when I filled out the paper work. February 15th, 2012 was my last day as a teacher in Gwinnett County. My dream job was over. I have the 45-page document. A friend of mine who is a History department Chair at another high school read it and loved it.

In short, I busted my butt for eleven years loving and teaching all types of students to the best of my ability. I was a very good teacher. I busted my butt to create a wonderful document to show how you could properly teach the American Revolution from the factual aspects of the Revolution, the Christian aspects/facts of the Revolution and I was pushed out of Norcross High School. I am an Orthodox Jew and I did the right thing. I will continue to always stand for principles that I believe in and not “evolve” or change to other people’s standards.

Thank you very much for reading.

May G-d continue to Bless you, your family and the Republic of the United States of America.

“When the righteous rule the people rejoice, when the wicked rule the people groan.” NO MORE!! Rise up my friends and restore America to Righteousness!!!!

All my Love and affection,

Marc Alan Urbach

 

Leave a Reply

